Afraid Of The Christmas Lights: Festive shorts from the biggest stars in crime fiction (Afraid Of The Light Book 2)

Afraid of the Christmas lights is another excellent short story collection I have had the pleasure of reading over the Christmas period. This one is an Anthology of crime stories which were right up my street. If you are a lover of crime fiction, then I am sure you will love these stories as much I did. Written by a team of extremely talented authors who have donated their time and talent towards putting this book together in aid of two charities, East Surrey Domestic Abuse Services and Rights of Women.

You might already know some of the authors who have contributed. I, personally, have only read books by Jo Furniss previously but I will certainly be adding to my TBR list again with books by the other authors featured.

I don’t think it needs to be Christmastime to enjoy these stories. They would be a treat at any time of the year!

All the stars from me. I very much recommend.

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2021 CWA SHORT STORY DAGGER AWARD

All profits from the sale of this anthology will be donated to frontline domestic abuse charities

“TWISTED, DELICIOUS, DEVIOUS”

From the biggest stars in crime fiction comes an eclectic mix of festive shorts

Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Lee Child

“Stellar” —THE GUARDIAN

“Haunting”—THE TIMES

“The biggest stars in contemporary crime fiction”—THE SUNDAY RECORD

“Cracking…All the stories are truly gripping”—MY WEEKLY

“Twisted, devious, delicious. If you’re looking for a mystery in your Christmas stocking, this collection of crime tales will be right up your candy-cane lane”—JO SPAIN

“A perfect festive collection of bite-sized crime fiction”—JOHN MARRS

“A deliciously dark selection pack of stories you’ll devour” —SARAH PINBOROUGH

“A bulging stocking full of prize gifts. Funny, tragic, scary and clever- the perfect Christmas present” — LOUISE BEECH

“A wicked slay-ride through the dark days of winter”— TREVOR WOOD

****************************************************************
IT WOULDN’T BE CHRISTMAS WITHOUT A LITTLE CRIME…

A Christmas dinner takes a murderous turn, a friendship group loses the festive spirit, and a young girl goes to extreme measures to keep a beloved dog.

Afraid Of The Christmas Lights is a collection of gripping, sometimes funny, and always festive short stories from a group of bestselling crime writers.

From the hilarious to the macabre, there’s something for everyone – whether you’re a Christmas convert or a bit of a Grinch. From a detective tracking down missing Christmas geese, to a cat lady who goes on a date in order to keep Santa Paws well fed, this anthology is the perfect gift to cosy up with this year.

****************************************************************

CONTRIBUTORS

Afraid Of The Christmas Lights is brought to you by eighteen bestselling crime and thriller writers who between them have topped the Sunday Times and Amazon charts, been Richard and Judy bestsellers, won the Crime Novel of the Year Award, the Bath Novel Award and the UK National Book Awards, had their work made into major television series and been published in over 50 territories worldwide.

Mark Billingham
Rachael Blok
Heather Critchlow
Elle Croft
James Delargy
Clare Empson
Jo Furniss
Sophie Hannah
T.E. Kinsey
N.J. Mackay
S.R. Masters
Val McDermid
Phoebe Morgan
Dominic Nolan
Robert Scragg
Victoria Selman
Kate Simants
Adam Southward
Harriet Tyce

****************************************************************

Profits from Afraid Of The Christmas Lights will support two front-line charities:

ESDAS: Educates professionals, communities, victims and even perpetrators on the nature of domestic abuse. They offer practical measures, such as legal advice and transport, to enable survivors to find a safe place to live.

Rights of Women: Helps women understand their legal rights and access a range of support services to which they are entitled.

happy reading!

2 thoughts on “Afraid Of The Christmas Lights: Festive shorts from the biggest stars in crime fiction #BookReview

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s