The Garden on Sparrow Street cover

I always know I’m in for a treat when I pick up a book by Tilly Tennant so I couldn’t wait to get stuck into The Garden on Sparrow Street. What an absolutely, delightful story! I defy anyone not to love it!

When we meet Nina, she is volunteering in a local charity shop, having lost her husband after a long and cruel illness. Nina is instantly likeable, and as the story progresses it seems she may be too nice for her own good sometimes. Her life takes another unexpected turn when she finds out that the charity shop is to be closed and replaced by a popular restaurant chain. What will she do with her spare time now, until she can find a new job? In her need to have something to occupy her mind, and time, on the run up to Christmas Nina takes on the responsibility of helping to restore Sparrow Street’s community garden, along with others who live in her street and also her best friend, Robyn.

Nina has no idea just how much this project is going to change her life.

After a bumpy start, Colm comes to the rescue to offer his gardening expertise. He is such an adorable character. I loved him! It’s easy to see how he might catch the eye of any single lady 😉

I loved the friendship between the Nina and Robyn. They are as different as chalk and cheese but are the best of friends. They have their little disagreements but are there for each other through thick and thin.

I have no idea how I would cope if I lost my Steve (not well, I’m sure!), so I could completely understand Nina’s feelings towards moving on. I think it’s only natural to feel an element of guilt and there are no rules when it comes to grief. Everyone is different. We lost my stepdad ten years ago, but for my Mum it’s still very raw and feels like yesterday. She’s never shown any interest in moving on with someone else, I’m not sure she ever will, although as a daughter it would be nice to see her have some sort of companionship again, one day. I’m sure Dave wouldn’t want her to spend the rest of her life alone, but grief is very personal. I have known others who have been re-married within a year of their partner passing away. We all cope differently, and this is reflected in Nina and Robyn’s differing views on the subject.

My heart went out to Nina and I desperately wanted her to give herself another chance at happiness, but she’s not one for putting herself first very often.

The relationship between Nina and her Dad, Winston, is gorgeous.

I might not be making it very clear, but I really, really LOVED this book and (almost) all the characters in it. It is so beautifully written, and I have thoroughly enjoyed every word. If you’re looking for an uplifting story full of friendship, community spirit and romance then look no further. You will love it at Christmastime or at any other time of the year, I’m sure. Easily a five-star read for me and one I will be more than happy to recommend.

Via AmazonUK

As the cold winter nights draw in, escape to the sleepy town of Wrenwick, where the streets sparkle with snow and a lonely young widow is about to find that true love really can strike twice…

As Christmas cheer fills Sparrow Street with excitement, grieving widow Nina is having a hard time. December is always a difficult month to face without her beloved husband Gray, the days feel long and bleak, and to cap it all, she’s just lost her job.

So when Nina hears that Sparrow Street’s Community Garden, one of Gray’s favourite places, is to be put up for sale she knows she must do something. Filled with purpose, she gathers the residents of Sparrow Street around her to turn the neglected patch of land into a Garden of Memories.

Working with her neighbours, single mum Kelly and eighty-year-old Ada, Nina soon finds that she’s not the only lonely soul on Sparrow Street. And as the community comes together and the garden flourishes, Nina can’t help but be drawn to Irish gardener Colm with his sparkling blue eyes and kind heart, finding herself confiding in him about all her recent troubles.

But just as Colm and Nina grow closer and he opens up to her about his own secret loss, Colm’s estranged wife returns from Scotland, wanting to try again. Nina knows she should let the man she’s falling for go – it’s the right thing to do. But what if fate has other plans in store? Will the beautiful garden on Sparrow Street have brought two people together only for Nina’s cautious heart to push them apart?

If you love an uplifting, moving love story, then The Garden on Sparrow Street is the perfect romantic read to curl up with on a winter’s afternoon. Fans of Josie Silver and Carole Matthews will love this book!

Readers are falling in love with The Garden On Sparrow Street:

‘A lovely, lovely, book. I picked it up cuddled into my chair and started reading I did not get up for hours. I left my world, entered the town, met the characters, loved every page and was sorry to reach the end of this story, say goodbye to all the characters.’ Netgalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

This was a totally heart-warming read that once I started didn’t want to put down. A lovely storyline and super characters. Just fabulous’. Netgalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I really enjoyed this book and read it in one sitting. Great characters and a great plot line. I would highly recommend this book to anyone.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Another gorgeous novel by Tilly! It’s like an old friend giving you a warm hug! Lovely characters and a gorgeous front cover, I really loved this novel and it’s perfect for the winter season ahead. I smiled all the way through this one.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I always love a Tilly Tennant book. They are always like a big warm hug in book form. They are full of joy, happiness, romance and happiness. This book was absolutely beautiful.’ Goodreads Reviewer.

‘This book is a custom-made necessity for those precious afternoons curled up on the sofa with a cup of tea and that proverbial ‘good book’. This charming book would make a lovely stocking-stuffer.’ Netgalley Reviewer

‘I always get drawn in by Tilly Tennant’s novels …This story will make you feel so warm and cosy and wintery. It’s perfect for cosying up on the sofa with a hot chocolate. I loved the characters, it was heart-warming and unputdownable.’ The Cosiest Corner

‘Tilly’s books I love. Captured the characters amazingly well as if I was part of the story. Read it too quickly. Keep them coming.’ Netgalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Another brilliant book from Tilly Tennant. Easy read, good storyline, couldn’t put it down.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

I am honoured and chuffed to be named in Tilly Tennant’s acknowledgements for this wonderful book, along with my very lovely book blogging friend, Steph @ https://steflozbookblog.wordpress.com/

The Garden on Sparrow Street acknowledgements

🙂

7 thoughts on “The Garden on Sparrow Street: A heartwarming, uplifting Christmas romance by Tilly Tennant @TillyTenWriter @bookouture #BookReview

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s