Today I have the pleasure of welcoming Trevor Twohig to Chat About Books 🙂

Trevor Twohig Sunny Sands

For those who don’t know already, could you tell us about yourself and your book(s) please?

Hi, I am Trevor Twohig and I am from Kent. My novel Sunny Sands is based in Folkestone and is a crime novel. You follow the wayward escapades of Detective Charlie Stone as he tries to unravel the brutal murder of a teenage girl.

Where did/do you get your ideas from?

Well, if I’m honest a lot of the novel is based on parts of my life. Not the murder bit thankfully, but the separation and family bit certainly borrow from personal experience. With police procedural novels, a lot of research has to go in to ensure that the storyline is believable too.

Are any of your characters based (however loosely) on anyone you know?

Well, I’ve kind’ve answered that above! I think a lot of the characters borrow characteristics from those in my life at the time. Obviously it is a work of fiction, but certain bits and pieces are borrowed and exaggerated.

How do you pick your characters names?

Charlie Stone has been knocking around in my writing process for a while now. The rest are purely fictional or names I like!

Can you share your writing process with us, in a nutshell?

It starts with ideas. Everything for me is ideas-based. This is when the process is its most exciting, anything can happen! Once I have an idea that is original and most importantly, excites me, we go from there. I usually start writing by hand as that is the most organic way to get ideas down, but once the process is in full flow, I move to computer.

Who are your top 5 favourite authors?

Charles Bukowski for his sheer brutal honesty. Shakespeare for being the originator of all modern story. Hemingway for his clarity. John Niven for being ascerbic and hilarious/ Mitch Albom for his hope.

If you could meet any author, who would it be and what would you ask them?

Bukowski – can I have a night out with you?

Were you a big reader as a child?

Yes. I remember going to my room and reading the 422 pages or whatever it was, of Watership Down by Richard Adams which was awesome. Books are grea because the themes are so universal and ultimately they take you away from your situation which for me then, was suburban Bexleyheath!

When did you start to write?

I wrote songs and poetry when I was in my teens but they were dreadful! As was my first full novel Footprints written when I was in my twenties. I think the art of writing improves as you get older. You think you can write because maybe you are good at English and can do flowery prose well, but that doesn’t make you a good writer. As I have learned through years of editing!

If you could re-write the ending to any book what would it be and what would you change?

Probably Hamlet, although it is a play! I don’t like how Ophelia is treated and how she dies. Although, I accept that is not at the end of the book either. I think it shows how in relationships people can be very cruel without even really realising it.

Is there a book you wish you had written?

This is an interesting question. I am envious of Tolkien and the worlds he created. The depth richness and character of ‘Lord of the Rings’ is remarkable and I hope one day to create a work with such clarity over 1000 pages.

On the flipside I wish I had written something like ‘The Old Man and the Sea’ by Ernest Hemingway. What a brilliant novella! The simplicity of the storyline doesn’t detract from the writer’s incredible writing.

If you wrote an autobiography, what would your title be?

Freewheeling.

If you could invite any fictional character for coffee who would it be and where would you take them?

Steven Stelfox from Kill Your Friends. I would probably take them to London and see whether he liked how much it has changed over the past ten years.

Tell us a random fact about yourself.

I own a bar in Central Folkestone.

What are you working on right now?

Very little sadly. I have written a children’s book called ‘ Nerdboy;’ about a boy who discovers a magic portal that takes him back in time. That needs editing. But I am acutely aware I need to start my follow up to Sunny Sands asap!

Tell us about your last release?

Sunny Sands, is a crime novel set in Folkestone!

Do you have a new release due?

Probably overdue, but nothing ready. I’m on it, I promise!

What do you generally do to celebrate on publication day?

Have a quiet drink with my children and family.

How can readers keep in touch with you?

Via my website wwww.trevortwohig.com

Is there anything else you would like us to know?

I would like people to know the importance of remaining positive and believing in what they do. If I hadn’t have persevered and believed in the project, Sunny Sands would never exist. Keep on believing and ignore your haters and detractors. Focus on love and positivity!

Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions, Trevor 🙂

Sunny_Sands_B-format_cover

A teenage body washed up on the beach…
A twisted operation conceived by criminal masterminds…
Can one man solve the case?

For Fans of Lee Child and Ian Rankin, comes an absorbing and powerful thriller from a new, gritty, modern voice.
The first book in the Charlie Stone series.

Only one man sees the truth
In the sleepy, coastal town of Folkestone,Detective Sergeant Charlie Stone is struggling. Recently separated from his wife Jo and feeling estranged from his five-year-old daughter Maddie, Charlie is trying hard to keep his life together.
An apparently cut and dried case of murder piques Charlie’s interest. As he delves further into the murky coastal underworld, he soon understands that not everything is what it seems.
As Charlie gets closer to the truth, he finds that he and his family are being dragged into a world of darkness, danger and depravity.
Can Charlie find the answers, while keeping all he holds dear, safe from harm?

 

happy reading 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s