Convictions

Convictions

Caro Land

(Review written 04/06/2020)

I finished Convictions late last night. There was no way I was going to go to sleep until I had! This has been a real page turner for me. I’m only sorry that I’m this late to the party.

I’m not sure I’ve ever read any crime thrillers/mysteries written from the perspective of a solicitor before, but I really enjoyed the legal aspects of this story. Natalie Bach is a brilliant character. I warmed to her straight away. I loved the fact that she had returned home from Mallorca to be there for her mother, Anna, who had suffered a stroke, but had thankfully recovered well. Anna is a lovely character too. I found it interesting following Natalie’s progress finding her feet in the legal world again having run a bar in Mallorca and being dumped by her boyfriend, finding herself single again as she approaches her fortieth birthday. That can’t be easy for anyone. It doesn’t seem to take her long before she finds herself well and truly in the thick of things. She certainly works with some interesting characters! I think Gavin Savage is my favourite. Loved him!

I found Natalie’s relationship with Wes quite fascinating, although I wasn’t entirely sure how I felt about it all for a good chunk of the story. The chemistry between them is palpable but their circumstances are far from ideal for the start of a new romance. I did hope there would be a happy ending, one way or another though.

As for the cases Natalie finds herself involved with, well what can I say…. It just goes to show that you never know what might go on behind closed doors or what anyone might be capable of when pushed to their limits. This story also puts a whole new spin on ‘a woman scorned’.

There are many shocking moments throughout this book.

This book is a completely compelling, fast-paced story full of secrets, lies, control, obsession, revenge and addiction but also humour, love, friendship, family loyalty and forgiveness. I LOVED it, and I read it in two days which anyone who knows me will know that’s quick for me. An excellent start to a new series. I can’t wait to read book 2!

Via AmazonUK

A stunning new drama from Caroline England, writing as Caro Land.

There are two sides to every crime…

Returning home to care for her ill mother, and approaching her fortieth birthday, Natalie Bach is devastated when she’s dumped without explanation by her long-term boyfriend.

Struggling to pick herself up, she’s offered her old job at Goldman Law. Jack Goldman’s estranged son Julian has been arrested for attempted murder and he wants Natalie to find out why.

With the help of fellow solicitor Gavin Savage, Natalie sets out to investigate, but with a series of red herrings ahead, will she ever discover the truth?

And can Natalie avoid her personal problems interfering with the case?

What everyone is saying about Convictions:

“A brilliant read with surprising twists and great characters”

“more twists and turns than you could count.” – Ginger Book Geek

this book had everything; a peek into the legal world, great characterisation, compelling darkness complemented with a lightness of humour as well as a satisfying ending”

“A brilliantly crafted novel. I was totally engrossed in the characters and plot from start to finish. I couldn’t put it down.” – Amanda Robson, Sunday Times bestselling author of Obsession, Guilt and Envy

Convictions is the first book in a gripping new legal, crime suspense series written by bestselling author Caroline England, writing as Caro Land. It will appeal to fans of authors like Diane Jeffrey, Samantha Hayes and K.L. Slater as well as readers of women’s fiction.

happy reading!

20 Books of Summer

#20BooksofSummer20 Sign up post

 

9 thoughts on “Convictions by Caro Land @CazEngland @Bloodhoundbook #BookReview #20BooksofSummer20 #1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s