White Is The Coldest Colour cover

I don’t think I have ever read such a disturbing opening chapter to a book, ever! It is most definitely not for the faint hearted. Dark is an understatement and the book does come with a warning.

If you really can’t cope with reading anything involving child sex abuse then this book won’t be for you. Having said that it is so brilliantly written that there was no way I could put it down once I started. I needed to find out if these evil, sadistic, sick characters get what they deserve before any other children get hurt.

Dr Galbraith is a child psychiatrist. He’s married with two young daughters and is thought of by many as a pillar of the community. He is also a paedophile, with a preference for young boys and he’s already murdered one in the cellar of his own home which he has kitted out with soundproofing. He controls his petrified wife who wouldn’t even dare question what he does in their cellar. The physical and emotional abuse she suffers at his hands is just awful, the poor woman. It just goes to show that you never know what might be going on behind closed doors, however ‘normal’ a family might appear. So scary!

Eight year old Anthony Mailer is referred to Galbraith by his GP as he isn’t coping well with his parent’s separation. He soon becomes Galbraith’s new obsession and his determination to have him is just terrifying. He will stop at nothing to get what he wants which leads to the most horrendous chain of events and a race against time to save Anthony from a horrific ordeal.

The police procedural aspect of the story is excellent. It is obvious that the author has significant experience in this field and knows exactly what he’s talking about. The things he must have seen and heard throughout his career must be heart-breaking. I take my hat off to any police officers and social workers who are faced with such cases. They must stay with you forever.

Galbraith is all the more terrifying for knowing that there are real people out there just like him, many in trusted positions of power, and that every day children suffer at the hands of these psycho’s. John Nicholl writes characters that literally made me feel physically sick. However, his story is well plotted, with excellent characterisation and it flows perfectly. I found it totally gripping and the ending…… Wow! Just awesome!

If you like a dark psychological thriller then look no further. You’ll love this!

Many thanks to John Nicholl for my review copy.

Via Amazon UK…..

Are you looking for a dark and gripping psychological thriller? Then you’ll love White Is The Coldest Colour by #1 best-selling author John Nicholl.

Be careful who you trust…

The Mailer family is oblivious to the terrible danger that enters their lives when seven-year-old Anthony is referred to the child guidance service by the family GP, following the breakdown of his parents’ marriage.

Fifty-eight-year-old Dr David Galbraith, a sadistic, predatory paedophile, employed as a consultant child psychiatrist, has already murdered one child in the soundproofed cellar below the South Wales Georgian town-house he shares with his wife and two young daughters.

When Anthony becomes Galbraith’s latest obsession he will stop at nothing to make his grotesque fantasies reality.

But can Anthony be saved before it’s too late?

The book includes content that some readers may find disturbing from the start. It is dedicated to survivors everywhere.

What readers are saying:

‘One of the best psychological thrillers I’ve ever read.’ The Book Review Cafe

‘I confess to holding my breath as the conclusion drew near.’ Crimesquad.com

‘Nicholl is a superb storyteller; it is an art to write a book with such a violent and brutal plot line and conveying it without gratuitous details.’ Great Book Escapes

‘A masterfully written dark psychological thriller.’ Albina Hume – bestselling author

‘I don’t think that I’ve ever read a book that explores the darkness of the human mind and soul as well as White is the Coldest Colour. ’ Books, Movies and Wine Reviews.

‘One of the best psychological thrillers I’ve read!’ Carissa Backherms – bestselling author

‘I seriously was on the edge of my seat reading it.  I really do highly recommend his book.’ Cheekypee Reads and Reviews

‘Confident crime writing at its best. A must-read for lovers of very dark crime.’ Northern Crime

‘Some of the best writing I’ve read.’ Mark Tilbury – bestselling author

‘Absolutely brilliant.’ Relax and Read Book Reviews

‘The writing is fab. Intense and gripping. A hard-hitting, eye-opener of a book.’ Renita D’ Silva – bestselling author

‘A suspenseful eloquently worded page-turner.’ Angie Smith – bestselling author

‘I literally could not tap to the next page on my kindle quick enough.’ By The Letter Book Reviews

‘You don’t read this book, you experience it.’ Stella Marie Alden – bestselling author

‘I would very highly recommend this book.’ Readers Favorite

’The writing is superb. I was totally gripped.’ Read Along With Sue

‘Very cleverly plotted, well-developed characters, and disturbingly believable. The ending just blew my socks off. Highly recommended.’ Booklover Catlady Reviews

White Is The Coldest Colour is a dark and disturbing thriller, it will appeal to fans of authors like Joy Ellis, Mark Edwards, KL Slater and John Marrs.

About the author…..

John Nicholl, an ex-police officer, child protection social worker and lecturer, has written six darkly psychological suspense thrillers, each of which has been an Amazon # 1 bestseller.
John’s books are set in Wales and have a strong Welsh flavour. He began writing after leaving his job heading up child protection services for Carmarthenshire.
John has publishing deals with Bloodhound Books, W.F. Howes, and Hungarian publisher – Konyvmolykepzo. He is represented by Toby Mundy – Literary agent at TMA.

 

4 thoughts on “White Is The Coldest Colour by John Nicholl @nicholl06 #BookReview

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s