Happy Publication Day, Marcie Steele!

Coming Home to Hope Street

(The Hope Street Series Book 2)

Marcie Steele

(Review written on 11th September 2020)

If you’re looking for a book that will leave you with a smile on your face, then look no further. Coming Home to Hope Street is a beautifully written, feel good story which has certainly cheered me up massively over the last couple of days.

It has been lovely catching up with some of the characters from book one in this series, The Man Across the Street (which I LOVED!), as well as getting to know some lovely new characters (and some not so lovely!).

This book is centred around Livvy, who left Hope Street twenty years previously as a young lady desperate for the freedom of a big city. Her life in Manchester has been far from rosy though and she returns to Hope Street, feeling like she has no other choice, in the hope that her sister, Hannah, will welcome her back. On the surface of things it seems a bit of a cheek considering she left Hannah with the responsibility of caring for their mother and didn’t even bother to stay in touch so it’s easy to understand some people’s cynicism. However, there is always two sides to a story and it’s soon apparent that Livvy has hardly been living the high life.

I have loved pretty much everything about this book.

I especially love the sense of community in Somerley. I think many communities lack that these days, which is sad. I love how the residents of Hope Street look out for each other.

I loved seeing Hannah rebuild her relationship with Livvy after such a long time apart and also how she welcomes her 15-year-old niece, who she had never met before, with open arms. Hannah is quite the inspirational character. I love that her relationship with Doug is going from strength to strength also.

Pip is a lovely character, despite her tantrums. Typical Daddy’s girl, until she’s trusted with the truth.

I’m extremely envious of Hannah realising her dream and opening her own book shop, right next door to The Coffee Stop. LOVE it! It’s lovely to see her so happy after everything she’s been through.

I don’t watch soaps, but I get the comparison here. This book is full of lovable characters who have their fair share of drama and heartache, but also enjoy each other’s friendship and neighbourly support through the rough times as well as the good. It tackles issues such as addiction and emotional abuse sensitively.

Its focus is people, their relationships with each other and the town they live in and I love it! I’m sure you will too!

Many thanks to Marcie Steele (AKA Mel Sherratt) and Sarah Hardy at Book On The Bright Side Publicity for my review copy. I will happily recommend to all!

Blurb….

Step across the cobblestones, pull back the curtains and peek behind the doors in the second instalment of The Hope Street Series. Catch up with old friends and fall in love with new ones in a story of friendship, second chances and new beginnings.



Livvy has no choice but to return to Hope Street, the childhood home she left over twenty years ago. Along with her sixteen-year-old daughter, Pip, she turns up on the doorstep, hoping for forgiveness from her sister.



Hannah thought she’d never see Livvy again. She’s overwhelmed with emotion but locks away her real feelings. How could Livvy stay away without any contact? And why has she come back now?



It isn’t long before the charm of the market town of Somerley begins to work its magic. Hannah is opening a book shop in the square, adjoining The Coffee Stop, and Livvy’s offer to help out brings the sisters closer together.



But when someone from Livvy’s past arrives unannounced too, he threatens everything she’s built up since her return. Can Livvy convince her sister, and her new friends, that her intentions to return were good ones? Or will her dreams of settling down and being happy again become nothing but a closed book?



If you love an uplifting story, then Coming Home to Hope Street is the perfect feel-good read to curl up with. Ideal for fans of Hannah Ellis, Holly Martin and Emily Harvale.



Also available in The Hope Street Series


The Man Across the Street (Book 1)



Also available by Marcie Steele


Stirred with Love (Book 1, The Somerley Series)


Secrets, Lies & Love (Book 2, The Somerley Series)


Second Chances at Love (Book 3, The Somerley Series)

Buy now!

Marcie Steele is the pen name of Mel Sherratt. For as long as she can remember, she’s been a meddler of words. Born and raised in Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, she’s a romantic at heart and has always enjoyed writing about characters that fall in and out of love, have good friends to hang around with, and live in communities with great spirit. 

She can often be found sitting in her favourite coffee shop, sipping a cappuccino and eating a chocolate chip cookie, either catching up with friends or writing on her laptop. Whether she writes crime or women’s fiction, she loves making up things for a living.

You can find more about Marcie Steele on Mel Sherratt’s website www.melsherratt.co.uk  at Twitter:  https://twitter.com/writermels and at Facebook https://www.facebook.com/MelSherrattauthor/

ICYMI….

https://chataboutbooks.blog/2020/01/04/the-man-across-the-street-an-uplifting-story-of-love-and-hope-for-2020-the-hope-street-series-book-1-by-marcie-steele-marcie_steele-bookreview/

Follow, like and share the book love with these awesome book bloggers….

happy reading! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Coming Home to Hope Street (The Hope Street Series Book 2) by Marcie Steele @writermels #BlogTour #BookReview @BOTBSPublicity

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s